Craft of the Month: October. A lesson on timing and learning to start over

Wow – I can’t believe September came and went, and apparently so did October?!

You may notice that I did not craft in September. Well, here’s why: September was filled with Jewish holidays (yum), celebrating my 25th birthday (3 times), and so on and so forth. I’m spoiled and lucky to have family and friends willing to spend almost the whole month reminding me that I turned a quarter of a century years old. It’s not the best excuse, but please accept it as best you can for now.

Now let’s get to October. This has been an interesting month for me. It started with a piece of seaglass. It’s a really unique shape, a beautiful frosted white, and I was inspired to make a craft that showcased it appropriately. I had this grand idea to somehow encase it in a shadow box with cool strings going every which way but the seaglass still floating, you know what I mean, right?

photo 3

In between all of that, I got to go on a surprise “working” vacation on a cruise to the caribbean! I certainly can’t complain because this so-called work required me to sit on a beach with a camera in my hand and run around with a clipboard (and for those of you who know me, put a clipboard in my hand and I’m as golden as the pot at the end of a rainbow). But that took up a significant portion of the part of October I set aside to do my craft. As such, in a rush to try and get something out before the end of October, I learned two tough lessons:

1) Have a back-up plan. If you run out of time to do something elaborate, what’s the back-up, simple craft you can do in the meantime? I started doing the #FMSphotoaday schedule, and stopped while we were on vacation, but if you follow me on Instagram you can check out my photos!

2) Be okay with not having a solution. Below are some photos of the attempted string-work as I’m calling it, and you can see, I haven’t been able to figure out how to make this craft work. Not enough glue in the world is making this seaglass float the way my brain is envisioning it. But, that’s okay, I’m learning. I’m not giving up on this craft, I’ll make it happen somehow, it just may not be in the month of October. Perhaps I will even encourage myself to do TWO crafts in November as a result :).

photo 1 photo 2 photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

I’m upset I don’t have more to share, but I’m not ashamed. I’m new at this, and sometimes you can’t get it right, right away.

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “Craft of the Month: October. A lesson on timing and learning to start over

  1. As the saying goes success is 90% perspiration and 10% inspiration. Keep at it and you’ll surprise yourself at your creations! And you will continue to delight the rest of us!

  2. I think the final tally was 4 celebrations… by my count =)

Leave a comment